91.7 Ann Arbor/Detroit 104.1 Grand Rapids 91.3 Port Huron 89.7 Lansing 91.1 Flint
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Meet The Hosts

Cynthia Canty

A lifelong resident of Michigan, Cynthia Canty brings over 30 years of experience in Detroit radio and television to her role as host of Stateside. She has served as a popular radio host, television news anchor, producer, and as a general assignment, medical, and consumer reporter. Her reporting and writing earned her many awards, including an Emmy and honors from the Michigan Association of Broadcasters, the Associated Press and the Detroit Press Club.

“For me, the magic of broadcast journalism has always been discovering stories to share with the audience,” said Canty. “Whether it is learning about peoples’ struggles and victories, interviewing notables in politics, business, the arts, health and science, or lighter fare such as sampling life on a local ostrich farm, I’ve loved covering the rich stories of Michigan over the years. “

In Cyndy’s spare time, she loves to travel, either with her husband Sean or as a fearless “solo traveler”. And she never stops looking for those magical stories, whether through chance meetings with a World War II vet, Facebooking with her listeners or her voracious reading.

Lester Graham

Lester Graham splits his time between hosting Stateside (Fridays) and reporting for Michigan Watch, the investigative unit of Michigan Radio. He was formerly the Senior Editor of The Environment Report, the environmental news service based at Michigan Radio, starting with the service in 1998.

He has been a journalist since 1985. Graham has served as a board member of the Public Radio News Directors Inc., and also served as President of the Illinois News Broadcasters Association. He is a member of the Radio-Television Digital News Association (RTDNA), Society of Professional Journalists and other professional groups.

Lester has received more than 100 awards at the state, regional, national and international levels for journalistic excellence, including four RTDNA Edward R. Murrow awards, two of them at the network level.