91.7 Ann Arbor/Detroit 104.1 Grand Rapids 91.3 Port Huron 89.7 Lansing 91.1 Flint
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Michigan Radio is proud of its legacy of excellence in reporting. The Michigan Radio news team has been recognized with more than 45 awards from numerous organizations including the award for General Excellence from the Michigan Associated Press, and Station of the Year Award from the Michigan Association of Broadcasters. Michigan Radio has also received national awards from the Public Radio News Directors, Inc., Radio Television Digital News Association, UNITY: Journalists of Color, and the Association for Women in Communications.

Mark Brush honored with Public Media Impact Award

L-R: Mark Brush's father Tom Brush, sister Lisa Brush, mother Sally Brush and brother-in-law Jim Frey accepted his 2018 MAPB Public Media Impact Award.

Mark Brush, Michigan Radio's former Digital Media Director, was posthumously honored with the Public Media Impact Award by the Michigan Association of Broadcasters this week. 

Mark Brush
Mark Brush

Brush, who worked at the station from 1998 until his death this past spring following a year-long battle with brain cancer, was recognized for his innovation and creativity, and inspiring others involved in public broadcasting to greater achievement. The award was presented this Tuesday at the Michigan Association of Broadcasters Summer Conference on Mackinac Island. Brush’s family accepted the award on his behalf.

As the longtime producer for The Environment Report, and then as Michigan Radio’s first Digital Media Director, Brush helped transition the station to a multi-platform news organization. He was an integral member of the station’s Flint water crisis team, using videos, photos and online graphics to illustrate the impact of that disaster. He also spearheaded Michigan Radio’s MI Curious project, which flips the script on the traditional reporting process by engaging the community in deciding what issues they want the station to report on.

To read more about the award, visit the MAB website.

Related Content