91.7 Ann Arbor/Detroit 104.1 Grand Rapids 91.3 Port Huron 89.7 Lansing 91.1 Flint
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Michigan Radio is proud of its legacy of excellence in reporting. The Michigan Radio news team has been recognized with more than 45 awards from numerous organizations including the award for General Excellence from the Michigan Associated Press, and Station of the Year Award from the Michigan Association of Broadcasters. Michigan Radio has also received national awards from the Public Radio News Directors, Inc., Radio Television Digital News Association, UNITY: Journalists of Color, and the Association for Women in Communications.

Michigan Radio wins Alfred I. duPont-Columbia Award for "Believed" Podcast Series

believed podcast
Emma Winowiecki, Jodi Westrick, Kasey O'Dea, Nicole Bolineaux
Michigan Radio

Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism today announced that Michigan Radio is a winner of a 2020 Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Award for the station’s podcast series, Believed.  

This marks the second time Michigan Radio has been the recipient of this prestigious award, the first being in 2017 for Not Safe to Drink, a documentary on the Flint water crisis. 

The Believed podcast series from Michigan Radio and NPR details how a team of women brought Olympic gymnastics doctor Larry Nassar to justice. Hosted by award-winning Michigan Radio reporters Kate Wells and Lindsey Smith, Believed was first distributed in October, 2018.  

The 2020 duPont-Columbia Award winners focus on timely issues such as immigration, political corruption, and abuse of power, especially as it relates to sexual assault. Believed is one of three podcasts that were winners in the Audio award category. The other winning podcasts were MSNBC's "Bagman” which revisited the investigation into corruption at the highest levels of the US government, that ultimately led to the resignation of Vice President Spiro Agnew; and "In the Dark" from APM Reports, which followed the case of death row inmate Curtis Flowers as it went before the Supreme Court, which ultimately overturned his conviction.

“This important work is all coming at a time of increased mistrust in powerful institutions,” said Cheryl Gould, duPont Jury Chair and former NBC News Executive. "Journalists are playing a critical role in holding the powerful accountable, and we are proud to honor these duPont winners for their commitment.”

Founded in 1942, the duPont-Columbia Awards uphold the highest standards in journalism by honoring winners annually, informing the public about those journalists' contributions and supporting journalism education and innovation.

The duPont Awards ceremony will take place on January 21, 2020 in a ceremony hosted by CNN and PBS’s Christiane Amanpour and the New York Times The Daily’s Michael Barbaro, in New York City. 

Want to support reporting like this? Consider making a gift to Michigan Radio today.

Steve is Michigan Public's Marketing Director. His job involves coordinating the station’s marketing, communication and public relations efforts, special events, car donation program and community & media partnerships.
Related Content