91.7 Ann Arbor/Detroit 104.1 Grand Rapids 91.3 Port Huron 89.7 Lansing 91.1 Flint
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Michigan Radio is proud of its legacy of excellence in reporting. The Michigan Radio news team has been recognized with more than 45 awards from numerous organizations including the award for General Excellence from the Michigan Associated Press, and Station of the Year Award from the Michigan Association of Broadcasters. Michigan Radio has also received national awards from the Public Radio News Directors, Inc., Radio Television Digital News Association, UNITY: Journalists of Color, and the Association for Women in Communications.

Michigan Radio wins Alfred I. duPont-Columbia Award for Flint documentary

Columbia University’s Graduate School of Journalism today announced that Michigan Radio is a winner of a 2017 Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Award for the documentary, Not Safe To Drink.

The Not Safe To Drink documentary traced the story of the Flint water crisis, and how the water in Flint became unsafe to drink. The documentary first aired on Michigan Radio in December, 2015. Not Safe to Drink was reported and produced by Lindsey Smith and edited by Sarah Hulett, with reporting help from Michigan Radio‘s Steve Carmody, Rebecca Williams and Mark Brush and editing help from Jennifer Guerra.

Michigan Radio was one of four public broadcasting duPont-Columbia award winners nationwide, which also included the PBS programs Frontline and Nova, and NPR/Colorado Public Radio for their joint exposé on the Army’s mistreatment of disabled veterans.

“Now more than ever, reliable news and information are critical to our society,” said Bill Wheatley, the chairman of this year’s awards jury. “In their 75th year, the duPont Awards continue to recognize the vital contributions to public knowledge made by free, fair and probing journalists.”

Since the founding in 1942, the duPont Awards have honored accurate and fair reporting about important issues that are powerfully told. In 2017, the duPont-Columbia Awards will celebrate their 75th anniversary with special events featuring distinguished past winners and award-winning reporting in the public service, including Ira Glass, of This American Life and past winner of four duPonts, and a tribute to the late Gwen Ifill, PBS news anchor.

The duPont Awards ceremony will take place on Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2017, at Columbia University, co-hosted by Lester Holt, ?anchor of NBC Nightly News with Lester Holt and Dateline, and Jane Pauley?, host of CBS News Sunday Morning.

Steve is Michigan Public's Marketing Director. His job involves coordinating the station’s marketing, communication and public relations efforts, special events, car donation program and community & media partnerships.