91.7 Ann Arbor/Detroit 104.1 Grand Rapids 91.3 Port Huron 89.7 Lansing 91.1 Flint
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Incumbents keep their seats on Michigan's Supreme Court

Michigan's Hall of Justice.
Michigan's Hall of Justice.

The two races for Michigan Supreme Court have gone to the incumbents.

Michigan Supreme Court Justices Joan Larsen and David Viviano held onto their seats on Michigan’s highest court.

Larsen defeated Wayne County Judge Deborah Thomas and lawyer Kerry Morgan. Gov. Rick Snyder appointed Larsen to the court in 2015 to replace a justice who resigned. She's now been elected to serve the two years remaining on that term.

Larsen was nominated by the Republican Party. She was a University of Michigan law professor when she was appointed to the post. She worked at the U.S. Justice Department earlier in her career and was a law clerk for U.S. Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia.

Thomas was nominated by the Democratic Party, although party affiliation isn't listed in court races. It was her second run for the state Supreme Court.

Justice David Viviano won a full eight-year term on the Michigan Supreme Court.

Viviano defeated Wayne County Judge Frank Szymanski and lawyer Doug Dern in the statewide race.

Viviano was appointed to Michigan's highest court in 2013 and won a partial two-year term a year later. He was a Macomb County judge when Gov. Rick Snyder picked him for a vacancy.

Mark Brush was the station's Digital Media Director. He succumbed to a year-long battle with glioblastoma, an aggressive brain cancer, in March 2018. He was 49 years old.
The Associated Press is an independent global news organization dedicated to factual reporting.