91.7 Ann Arbor/Detroit 104.1 Grand Rapids 91.3 Port Huron 89.7 Lansing 91.1 Flint
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

State of disaster declared in 17 Michigan counties

A street pole in the middle of flood water
Bryce Huffman
Michigan Radio

Gov. Rick Snyder has declared a state of disaster for 17 counties and two cities hit hard by recent flooding from heavy rain and melting snow. He also opened the Disaster and Emergency Contingency Fund to local governments in those areas. 

The disaster declarations were made for the following: Allegan, Arenac, Barry, Berrien, Cass, Clare, Eaton, Ingham, Ionia, Kalamazoo, Kent, Mecosta,Newaygo, Ogemaw, Oscoda, Ottawa and St. Joseph counties, as well as the cities ofGrand Rapids and Lansing.

Under the disaster declaration, Michigan State Police’s Emergency Management and Homeland Security Division is authorized to coordinate state efforts in the areas affected by the flooding.

Local governments in the declared counties can apply for grants from the Disaster and Emergency Contingency Fund. It allows them to receive reimbursement for response costs up to $100,000, or 10 percent of their previous year’s operating budget, whichever is less.  

The Associated Press is an independent global news organization dedicated to factual reporting.
Related Content