91.7 Ann Arbor/Detroit 104.1 Grand Rapids 91.3 Port Huron 89.7 Lansing 91.1 Flint
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

New leaders at the Capitol

Lawmakers at the state Capitol continued to choose legislative leaders yesterday. In the Senate: Republican state SenatorRandy Richardville of Monroe was elected as the next Senate Majority Leader. He'll takeover the job from term-limited Republican state Senator Mike Bishop.

Last week, Senate Democrats picked state Senator Gretchen Whitmer of Lansing as their Minority Leader.

In the House: Republican state Representative Jase Bolger of Marhsall will be the new House Speaker. He takes over the job from term-limited Democratic Speaker Andy Dillon.  On Monday, Governor-elect Rick Sndyer named Dillon to be the state's next treasurer.

Democrats picked Representative Richard Hammel of Genesee County as their Minority Leader.

Zoe Clark is Michigan Public's Political Director. In this role, Clark guides coverage of the state Capitol, elections, and policy debates.
Related Content